Easy jazz sheet music

Moderator: Glenn

Mr T

Easy jazz sheet music

Post by Mr T » Sat Oct 12, 2013 10:08 pm

Hi guys

Can anyone recommend a good book (or other resource) of easy jazz pieces?

Thanks v much :)

simonking
Star
Star

Re: Easy jazz sheet music

Post by simonking » Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:11 pm

How easy are we talking here? Are you a total beginner or a pianist already? There are some good arrangements of standards by Frank Marocco, but they're not exactly for complete beginners though not outrageously difficult either.

Glenn

Post by Glenn » Tue Oct 15, 2013 6:40 am

Good question Mr T.
Are you at the level yet where you can break out from the strtaight jacket of maj, min, 7th and dim?
To get a convincing jazz sound you will need to master at least the m7.
I will put my thinking capo on and see what i find that is at a jazz player beginning level.
1) Ballone Burini 46C (4+5) cassotto (LMMH) 3/3 PA; 2) Accordiola Piano V (5+5) cassotto (LMMMH) 3/3 PA;
3) Roland FR8X; 4) Hohner Vox 4k (LMMH) 3/3 CBA

Mr T

Post by Mr T » Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:46 pm

Hi guys, thanks for the replies

In terms of accordion playing I am pretty much an absolute beginner - six months in - so still using the maj,min, 7, dim buttons. However, I am a long serving trombone & guitar player so I do at least know what the other chords, Maj7, min7 etc. sound like and how they are formed.

Thanks for your help, it is much appreciated.

MT.

Anyanka

Post by Anyanka » Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:50 am

Also: define jazz! The term covers so many different areas... I occasionally use '101 Jazz & Blues Hits for Buskers' .

It's got melodies and chords, nothing specific to the accordion. You might find it too simple as you are already an experienced musician.

Sarah
Star
Star

Post by Sarah » Mon Oct 21, 2013 12:37 pm

Maybe this one?

60 Mini Swing Studien sample pages: http://www.stretta-music.com/en/kosnar- ... 39256.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;